Changes to OHSAS 18001:2007 which will become ISO 45001


Changes to OHSAS 18001:2007 which will become ISO 45001

Having been privy to some of the first drafts of the new ISO 45001 standard, it was clear that much greater value was being placed on worker involvement, participation and consultation, and rightfully so.

Since the Standard to a greater or lesser degree echoes the common framework of International Occupational Health & Safety Law, it makes sense that a greater Tri Partite Alliance involvement was amplified i.e. Regulator (or Interested & affected parties) Employers and Employees.

What’s New
To help you understand what is new and what has changed between OHSAS 18001:2007 and ISO/DIS 45001:2016 (DIS = Draft International Standard) we have compared both Standards to highlight key changes.

ISO 45001 New Requirements
ISO 45001 introduces a small number of requirements that are largely new when compared to OHSAS 18001:2007, including:
• Understanding the Organisation and its context (4.1)
• Understanding the needs and expectations of workers and other interested parties (4.2)
• Action to address risks and opportunities (6.1)
• Assessment of risks to the OH&S Management System (
• Identification of OH&S opportunities (
• Planning to take action (6.1.4)

Consolidated Requirements
ISO/DIS 45001:2016 consolidates requirements, spread across a number of clauses of OHSAS 18001:2007, into stand-alone requirements including (OHSAS 18001 clause numbers in brackets).

For example:
• Management of Change (4.3.1;; 4.4.6;; 4.6)
• Outsourcing, Procurement and Contractors (4.2; 4.3.1; 4.3.2; 4.4.1; 4.4.2;;; 4.4.6)
• Continual Improvement (4.1; 4.3; 4.3.3; 4.4.1; 4.4.2;

Modified Requirements
ISO/DIS 45001:2016 clauses represent modification of what is required in OHSAS 18001:2007 rather than being a totally new requirement. For example (ISO/DIS 45001 clause numbers in brackets):

For example:
• Scope (4.3)
• Leadership and Commitment (5.1)
• OH&S Policy (5.2)
• Organisational roles, responsibilities, accountabilities and authorities (5.3)
• Hazard Identification (
• OH&S Objectives (6.2.1) and Planning to Achieve (6.2.2)
• Information and Communication (7.4)
• Operational Planning and Control (8.1.1)
• Hierarchy of Controls (8.1.2)
• Outsourcing (8.3)
• Emergency Preparedness (8.6)
• Monitoring, measurement, analysis and evaluation (9.1)
• Internal Audit (9.2)
• Management Review (9.3)
• Incident, Nonconformity, Corrective Action (9.1.1)
• Continual Improvement (10.2)
Relocated Requirements
ISO/DIS 45001 is based on a 1-10 Section structure. Accordingly, ISO 45001 simply relocates a requirement that is very similar to a requirement in OHSAS 18001:2007.


What’s Familiar
Thankfully, ISO have not recreated the wheel.

If you are familiar with OHSAS 18001:2007 you will be familiar with many of the requirements and concepts in ISO/DIS 45001:2016, including:
• The Plan-Do-Check-Act model remains the fundamental “systems” model promoted by ISO/DIS 45001.


• The overall intent (a framework for managing prevention of death, injury, ill-health) is consistent with OHSAS 18001:2007.
• ISO/DIS 45001 maintains (and enhances) the focus on the role of top management in an effective OH&S management system
• ISO/DIS 45001 maintains a strong focus on hazard, risk, controls focus
• Very similar requirements for:
– Planning and policy
– Legal requirements
– Improvement – objectives, action planning, monitoring.
– Awareness, consultation, competency needed
– Resources required to support system
– Monitoring, evaluating, analysing OHS performance and improvement.

SRM is and OHSAS 18001:2007 Certified Company and is already in the process of developing OHS Management Systems according to the new ISO 10 Clause Framework in anticipation of the changes. We hope that the new ISO 45001 Standard will be released in middle of 2017.

Related Tag: Health And Safety Consultants